Awe inspiring views.

Awe

I don’t think I experience the emotion of awe on a daily basis, but I certainly recognise it when I do. For me, being in awe of something is that moment that makes you catch your breath and although a fantastic feeling, almost indescribable, it makes you realise what a small part you play on Earth and how fragile you are.

A recent experience of being in awe of something would be on a hike I took up to Stickle Tarn in the Langdale Pikes.

IMG_3739

Even on the approach the hills seem to beckon.

It is a trail well trodden by thousands  of tourists annually since Victorian times.

Langdale-Pikes-map
Langdale pikes Trail

It starts at Dungeon Ghyll pub,  map O/S 1/25,000. OL7 Lake District, South East. The climb is one of 624metres. On the trail up which is steep and well worn, you have time to contemplate and if like me rarely look behind you, just concentrating on the burn in your thighs.

I like to try not to look behind me until I reach Stickle Tarn as when you turn around at this point, I experience the full thump of awe.

pavey-arc-stickle-tarn

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

blea-tarn-from-pike-o-stickle

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_3765

IMG_3750
The view from Stickle Tarn, Lansdale Pikes.

IMG_3746IMG_3741IMG_3740IMG_3742

From Stickle Tarn you have the opportunity to tick off some peaks from the Wainwright walks. These being Pavey Ark, Harrison Stickle and Pike O’Stickle. The more daring among us can tackle Jakes Rake under Pavey Ark. The views are awesome.

So there you are, my definition of awesome, something that gives you that buzz of excitement and joy but also a little fear or intimidation.

More recently awesome is used in general terms for pleasure or enjoyment.

Such as an awesome lunch for me would be good bread and cheese.

IMG_4671.JPG

Washed down of course with good wine or coffee.

What’s your awesome? Please do tell.

Leave a Reply

